04 March 2021,   09:53
Spain declares disaster zones in areas hit by Storm Filomena

The Spanish Government declared disaster zones in the regions hit hardest by Storm Filomena last week.

The Cabinet has approved a measure that will release financial assistance to repair the damage from record snowfall and low temperatures in Madrid, Castilla-La Mancha, Castilla y León, Asturias, Andalusia, Aragón, La Rioja and Navarre.

The details of the aid package have not yet been decided, and it will be up to the relevant ministries to assess the needs of reach region. Regional authorities in Madrid and in Castilla-La Mancha, which includes the city of Toledo, had been pushing for disaster zone declaration.

Government spokesperson María Jesús Montero said that when a damage appraisal is ready, a new initiative will be approved listing specific relief measures.

“We appreciate the speed at which we have been recognized as a zone seriously affected by an emergency”, - tweeted Madrid Mayor José Luis Martínez-Almeida.