28 September 2021,   23:47
Writers and jury members boycott Litera because of the inclusion of Culture Ministry representative

The literary contest Litera, organized by the Writers’ House, faced a big challenge this year after the Minister of Culture Tea Tsulukiani nominated her representative, an advisor to the Minister, Ioseb Chumburidze, to the jury of the competition.

After this move, on July 29, the authors began to withdraw their works from the competition as a form of protest due to the intervention of the Ministry in the literary activities.

The representatives of the Writers’ House note that such a case had never occurred in the history of the award.

The decision of the Ministry is being protested by the members of the Supervisory Board of the Writers’ House.

The prize fund of the literary prize is 30 000 GEL.