11 August 2022,   05:32
Commitment to sovereignty, support for reforms - Eastern Partnership Summit adopts joint declaration

Joint Declaration of the Eastern Partnership Summit, held in Brussels, says that the EU acknowledges the initiative of the trio of associated partners Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, to enhance the cooperation with the EU.

“The European Union and the interested governments in Tbilisi, Kyiv and Chișinău will explore options for enhanced sectoral cooperation, including, among others, the areas of the twin green and digital transitions, connectivity, energy security, justice and home affairs, strategic communication and healthcare.

We acknowledge the European aspirations and the European choice of Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. The Association Agreements with the European Union provide for accelerating political association and economic integration with the EU”, - reads the declaration.

The document also recognizes that “the EU’s conditionality and incentive-based approach (“more-for-more” and “less-for-less”) will continue to benefit those partners most engaged in implementing reforms”.

It notes that the European Union’s support will be conditional on the implementation of agreed reforms: “This will influence structural reforms, particularly in the rule of law and justice reform and anti-corruption.”

“We have come together to reaffirm our strong commitment to our strategic, ambitious and forward-looking Eastern Partnership, which remains firmly based on common fundamental values, mutual interests and shared ownership, responsibility, inclusivity, differentiation and mutual accountability”, - reads the document.

It further stressed that the Eastern Partnership is a “constructive partnership, which is not directed against anyone, but is designed to contribute to peace and prosperity for all countries in the neighborhood”.

The declaration signed by the leaders of the Eastern Partner nations - Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Armenia and Azerbaijan, as well as heads of state or government of EU member states and EU representatives.